The Hunt for Brown October – v.2020

Before I get any comments admonishing me that National Forests in California are currently closed, I’ll note that this report is from October 2020.

One of the cool things about keeping a blog over the years (okay, probably the only cool thing about keeping a blog) is that it provides a window into one’s own past. See, I’m typing now, while remembering a trip I took last year, to a place that I visited for the first time 15 years ago, and blogged about for the first time 14 years ago. It’s very meta.

And what I find gratifying and inspiring is that some things don’t really change over time. You can read a story about backcountry fishing in a lake written 70 years ago, and feel like it was written yesterday. The thrill of sight-fishing for big fall backcountry browns is one of those things. I’ll spare you much of the verbiage — I probably can’t describe this particular feeling any better than I could 14 years ago. But I will share with you some of the photos from this sunny day in October up in the mountains, prospecting for brown trout on dry flies.

This long, torpedo-shaped brown fell for a foam hopper pattern
This one got tricked by the same foam hopper — I thought the darker aesthetic with the big, bold spots ringed with white halos was striking
Some brookies were cruising around looking for food too, like this nice 12″ fish
A hefty brown with a distinctive spotting pattern
Another shot of the same fish — I measured it twice to double-check if I could call it a 20-incher, but nope, still fell half an inch short even when held with two hands
And the release, with a last look at this brown’s broad, spotted back

To say it was a good day could be considered to be an understatement. But it was a good day. The weather cooperated nicely, and I had the good fortune of spending the day tangling with some hefty browns. And last but certainly not least, I was back home in time to sleep in my warm bed instead of trying to brave a cold October night in the high country.

5 thoughts on “The Hunt for Brown October – v.2020

  1. So excited to see you start writing again. Loved all your blogs, wanderings etc. your writings calmed my spirit when I couldn’t get up in the mountains to achieve that goal. Thank you for what you do!

    Jeff

    On Wed, Sep 8, 2021 at 4:27 PM Wanders With Trout wrote:

    > Matt posted: ” Before I get any comments admonishing me that National > Forests in California are currently closed, I’ll note that this report is > from October 2020. One of the cool things about keeping a blog over the > years (okay, probably the only cool thing about ke” >

    1. Thanks Jeff, I appreciate the kind words! Trying to take advantage of a bit of free time right now to catch up on my backlog of trip reports.

  2. Wow, those are specktacular trout! Why were they named Brown trout in the first place? I was told I had caught Brown trout at East Lake in KK NP, but mine too were Yellow trout with spots.

    We’re glad you got out there in that difficult year Matt, Cheers, Ian and Lizzie.

    1. Thanks! I suppose when the Europeans originally named this trout back in the 18th century, “yellow trout with spots” didn’t pass the British sense of humor. 😛

Leave a comment